Sports News | Kolkata Thunderbolts Crowned Champions of Prime Volleyball League, Defeat Ahmedabad 3-0 in Final

Sports News | Kolkata Thunderbolts Crowned Champions of Prime Volleyball League, Defeat Ahmedabad 3-0 in Final

Hyderabad (Telangana), February 27 (ANI): The Kolkata Thunderbolts emerged as the winners of the Prime Volleyball League after taking down Ahmedabad Defenders 15-13, 15-10, 15-12 in the Final at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad on Friday. Kolkata Thunderbolts’ Vinit Kumar was adjudged the player of the match.

The Defenders committed a couple of unforced errors as the Thunderbolts took the lead at 5-3 in the first set. Vinit Kumar stood tall as Kolkata continued to hold the edge at 10-8. However, Shon T John produced a magnificent spike as Ahmedabad leveled the scores at 13-13. But, Vinit pulled off a spectacular serve to help the Thunderbolts close out the first set at 15-13.

Also Read | Mumbai: Former Cricketer Vinod Kambli, Held for Dashing Car Into Building Gate, Released on Bail.

Captain Ashwal Rai and Vinit Kumar showed their brilliance as Kolkata took a massive lead at 9-5 in the second set. Thereafter, Rahul effected a magnificent spike as the Thunderbolts continued to forge ahead. The Thunderbolts eventually closed out the second set at 15-10 after winning a Super Point and took a 2-0 lead in the match.

The Thunderbolts continued to dominate the match as they held the lead at 8-5 in the third set. Manoj LM tried to keep the Defenders in the contest, but Kolkata kept producing brilliant spikes to stay ahead at 11-8. The Thunderbolts rode on the momentum and closed out the third set at 15-12 to clinch the championship.

Also Read | Is India vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I 2022 Live Telecast Available on DD Sports, DD Free Dish, and Doordarshan National TV Channels?.

Vinit Kumar (Kolkata Thunderbolts) was adjudged the Most Valuable Player of the Season, SV Guru Prasanth (Hyderabad Black Hawks) bagged the Emerging Player of the Season, Angamuthu (Ahmedabad Defenders) won the Best Spiker of the Season, John Joseph EJ (Hyderabad Black Hawks) was awarded the Best Blocker of the Season and Shon T John (Ahmedabad Defenders) won the Fantasy Player of the Season. (ANI)

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from Syndicated News feed, LatestLY Staff may not have modified or edited the content body)

Source link