India whitewashed West Indies

India whitewashed West Indies

Rohit Sharma’s triumph as India’s captain continues. After the first two matches, India have whitewashed the visiting West Indies by a huge margin of 98 runs in the third and final ODI.

The hosts won the toss and elected to bat in the match played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Friday (February 11). Batting for 28 runs, the Caribbeans were bowled out for 169 in 36.1 overs.

Oden Smith has scored the highest 36 runs for the team. Nicholas Puran scored 34, Alzari Joseph 29 and Darren Bravo 19. No one else was able to score. Among the Indian bowlers, Mohammad Siraj and Prasidh Krishna took maximum 3 wickets each and Deepak Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav took 2 wickets each.

Earlier, India’s two openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan could not get much advantage in batting first. Later, Shreyas Iyer scored 70, Rishav Punt 56, Deepak Chahar 37 and Washington Sundar 33 runs.

With this victory, India won the ODI series 3-0.